About Me

My photo

Tuesday, November 27, 2018

Call for Nominations: 2019 Lebowitz Prize. AMERICAN PHILOSOPHICAL ASSOCIATION.

American Philosophical Association
Phi Beta Kappa Society logo


The nomination deadline for the 2019 Dr. Martin R. Lebowitz and Eve Lewellis Lebowitz Prize is December 1, 2018. For information on the prize and the nomination process, please visit the Dr. Martin R. Lebowitz and Eve Lewellis Lebowitz Prize page.

The Lebowitz Prize for philosophical achievement and contribution is awarded by the Phi Beta Kappa Society in conjunction with the American Philosophical Association. The associated Lebowitz symposium is presented annually at a divisional meeting of the American Philosophical Association. Both societies are grateful to Eve Lewellis Lebowitz for her generous bequest, honoring her late husband, Martin R. Lebowitz, and providing a significant, tangible recognition for excellence in philosophical thought. The dialogic character of the Lebowitz symposium, created by the gift, emphasizes the historic work of philosophy as a process of inquiry.

The winners of the prize will present contrasting (but not necessarily opposing) views on an important philosophical issue of current interest. Past Lebowitz symposia have addressed topics including the scientific method, meaning, social epistemology, and disability.

Honoraria for the symposiasts, funded from the endowment created by the Lebowitzs’ $1 million gift, are approximately $25,000 each. The winning submission will have the opportunity to be published in the Journal of the American Philosophical Association. Publication will be arranged by mutual agreement of the winners and the journal’s editorial board. The winners will be selected by a committee appointed jointly by the Phi Beta Kappa Society and the American Philosophical Association, and ratified by the Phi Beta Kappa Senate.

Previous winners of the Lebowitz Prize:

2018 winners: Kit Fine and Stephen Yablo
2017 winners: Nancy Cartwright and Elliott Sober
2016 winners: Ernest Sosa and Stephen Stich
2015 winners: Alvin Goldman and Jennifer Lackey
2014 winners: Jonathan Schaffer and Jessica Wilson
2013 winners: Anita Silvers and Eva F. Kittay

APA members are eligible to nominate or self-nominate.

Please contact me if you have any questions regarding the prize or the nomination process. I look forward to receiving your nominations!


Jen Horneman
The Phi Beta Kappa Society

No comments:

Post a Comment